Tue, 14 Jul 2020

BATKEN, Kyrgyzstan -- Uzbek border guards have detained 13 Kyrgyz citizens in the southern region of Batken near the border with Kyrgyzstan.

Kyrgyzstan's State Border Guarding Service says the residents of the village of Chekelik in the Ferghana valley were detained on February 19 after they 'accidentally entered Uzbek territory.'

'The identities of the Kyrgyz nationals detained by Uzbek border guards are being established at this moment and negotiations on their release are under way,' the State Border Guard's department in the Batken region said.

Three countries sharing the Ferghana Valley -- Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, and Tajikistan -- inherited unclear borders after their independence from the Soviet Union in 1991. Many populated areas remain in dispute

The Kyrgyz-border segment near Chekelik is not among the disputed ones, but many local citizens continue to cross the border without official permission.

Last month, Kyrgyz officials had to evacuate more than 250 residents from a village in the Batken region after Kyrgyz and Tajik villagers clashed near a disputed segment of the Kyrgyz-Tajik border.

In December, six Kyrgyz nationals and three Tajik nationals were wounded in clashes in the area, while violence in September claimed four lives.

Copyright (c) 2018. RFE/RL, Inc. Republished with the permission of Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty, 1201 Connecticut Ave NW, Ste 400, Washington DC 20036

More Central Asia News

Access More

Sign up for Kyrgyzstan News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!